Daily program “Excursion to Roman times”

Daily programme from 10.30am to 5pm

In our intensively supervised daily program, students gain a comprehensive insight into life on the Limes in Roman times. The content is supplemented by a variety of practical examples and action-oriented activities.

Program Sequence:
Starts at 10:30 a.m

  1. Tour outside the fort (extra muros): Insights into civilian life in the fort village (Vicus); Excavation history and reconstruction of the fort; Exploration of the outside area of the Saalburg (Limes, Jupiter Column, Mithras Sanctuary, thermal bath ruins)
  2. Toga, brooches and sandals: demonstration of Roman costume and military equipment
  3. Guided tour within the fort (intra muros) with a look behind the scenes: basic knowledge and additional information on the history and culture of the Roman Empire; explanation of found material; History of the Saalburg and the Limes; the Roman army, Roman everyday life, Roman gods and myths
  4. quiz
  5. Active program: archery and spear throwing (March to October); Weapon training with sword and shield (ad arma) and formation tortoise (November to February)
  6. Roman children's games (e.g. astragal game, nuts games)


Ends at 5 p.m

Info/Prices

In German, English or French
Max. 30 pupils aged 8 and over
Duration: approx. 6 ½ hours
Cost: 370 € plus reduced admission 2 € per student and 6 € per adult 

Skip to content

Tagesprogramm “Ausflug in die Römerzeit”

Tagesprogramm von 10.30–17 Uhr

In unserem intensiv betreuten Tagesprogramm erhalten die Schüler*innen einen umfassenden Einblick in das Leben am Limes in römischer Zeit. Die inhaltliche Vermittlung wird dabei durch vielfältige praktische Beispiele und handlungsorientierte Angebote ergänzt.

Programmablauf:
Beginn 10.30 Uhr

  1. Führung außerhalb des Kastells (extra muros): Einblicke in das zivile Leben im Kastelldorf (Vicus); Grabungsgeschichte und Rekonstruktion des Kastells; Erkundung des Außenbereichs der Saalburg (Limes, Jupitersäule, Mithras-Heiligtum, Thermenruine)
  2. Toga, Fibeln und Sandalen: Vorführung römischer Tracht und militärischer Ausrüstung
  3. Führung innerhalb des Kastells (intra muros) mit Blick hinter die Kulissen: Basiswissen und Zusatzinformationen zur Geschichte und Kultur des Römischen Reiches; Erklärung von Fundmaterial; Geschichte der Saalburg und des Limes; die römische Armee, römisches Alltagsleben, römische Götter und Mythen
  4. Quiz
  5. Aktivprogramm: Bogenschießen und Speerwerfen (März bis Oktober); Waffentraining mit Schwert und Schild (ad arma) und Formation Schildkröte (November bis Februar)
  6. Römische Kinderspiele (z. B. Astragal-Spiel, Nüssespiele)


Ende 17.00 Uhr

Info/Preise

In Deutsch, Englisch oder Französisch
Max. 30 Schüler*innen ab 8 Jahren
Dauer: ca. 6 ½ Stunden
Kosten: 370 € zzgl. ermäßigter Eintritt 2 € pro Schüler*in und 6 € pro Erwachsenen 

Zum Inhalt springen